June 17, 2016
Waterfalls of Drymona & Kalamoudi
June 17, 2016
Monastery of Osios (Saint) David
Located in the mountains between Kalamoudi and Drymona, this monastery is built upon the ruins of where an ancient church once lay. Built around 1535, it was once again destroyed during the revolution and then re-built again in the 1877.
The monastery is most famous though for its association with the High Priest Father Iakovos – who displayed a gift for performing miracles and people would come from all over to have the honor of meeting him. Since his death, he is unofficially referred to as a Saint and his shrine can be visited within the grounds.
Strict dress code applies, so even a man wearing shorts will need to wear a skirt. Women wearing trousers will be expected to cover again with a skirt. Upon entering, a priest will see if you are appropriately dressed before you allowed in. There are shirts and elastic waist skirts provided for those needing extra coverage.
Feast days for the monastery include August 6th
, the Metamorphosis of Sotiros and the memorial on November 1st
of Osios David.
Outside the monastery are some markets selling local products such as herbs and honey, small bracelets, and some kitchen wares. At the base of the driveway at the u turn is a natural spring that legend says the young David touched the rock on the mountain and the Spring was born. It still flows today and many believe in its healing properties.
This charming monastery is run and maintained by a small group of nuns. The oldest monastery in Evia, it dates back the 7th
It is located about 8kms South of Limni 200m on a cliff overlooking the sea. Although the last 2 kms is dirt road, it is often visited by tour groups and is worth a visit. The nuns maintain the crops, garden, beehives and maintenance of the church as well as keeping up with their daily prayers.
The monastery suffered a lot of damage from both the Turkish and Frankish invasions but was restored by a Captain from Galatas of Asia Minor (Istanbul) and therefore took the name Galataki.
The monastery is dedicated to Agios Nikolaos who along with Poseidon is the protector of sea travelers and sailors. Feast Days for the Monastery are 20th
may and 6th
Every year for New Years, there is a midnight liturgy with feasting well into the early hours. It is more a spiritual experience rather than a tourist experience, but for those wishing to join you will be made to feel welcome.
As with most other monasteries, the dress code is also strict.
A small donation to the church is appreciated to help with ongoing expenses.
Cloister of Saint Christodoulos
A small cave chapel, where apparently the founder of St. John the Theologian in Patmos, Saint Christodoulos lived for 5 years in hiding from pirates.
Church of Zo-odo-ho Pighi (Panayitsa) Limni
- (located in the center of Limni in a small parking zone)
This church was discovered after Eleni Manaritsi had a dream about it in 1851. She was known for have a "sight" and being able to foretell of events.
What was eventually unearthed 5 years later has been dated back to 70 AD and when further excavated, also to 1BC.
First to be found in the excavations was the remains of a Byzantine Church dating back to the Byzantine Emporer Justinian. However this had also been built upon the remains of some thermal baths. And a statue of Hercules was also found dating back to 1BC.
In 1929 the eminent archaeologist and founder of the Byzantine Museum of Athens, George Sotiriou, made the first official research into the area, characterizing them as Early Christian - Byzantine, while locating and transferring to the "Byzantine & Christian Museum" http://www.byzantinemuseum.gr/en/ a bronze base of twelve stone with the inscription: "FOR HOLY GREAT GIFT AND ALL OUR HOUSE".
In the autumn of 2007, the Ecumenical and Byzantine Ecumenical Committees of Evoia (with the consensus of the Church and the Municipality, the Consular of the Historical Museum of the Lake) and the excavator of Limnioti archaeologist Angelos Ritsonis, rescued the full mosaic of the conch, announcing 18 species of eclectic fish art (opus selectum and opus mussivum - as mentioned in their scientific terminology). Samples of this can now be seen in the Limni Folk and Archaeological Museum.